Some History of Donegal Town
The Olde Castle Bar is an atmospheric Hostelry dating back centuries, this unique Traditional Pub is a landmark building in the centre of the gateway and historical seaside town of Donegal.
Located just off the Diamond, under the shadow of Donegal Castle, the home of the last of the great Irish Chieftains, Red Hugh O'Donnell (c.1575 - 10 September 1602). This family-run Pub/Restaurant is extremely popular with both locals & visitors alike. In fact the rear of this historic building once housed the stables of the O'Donnell Chiefs who hailed from their Castle situated opposite the bar.
Donegal Town in 1881
Donegal, in the Irish Language is “Dun na nGall”, which translates as “The Fort of the Foreigners”.